The Creative Capital | Andy Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant Program announced today that it will award $680,000 to nineteen recipients of its 2019 grants including Leticia Alvarado, Aruna D’Souza, Patricia Failing, Ari Heinrich, Jillian Steinhauer, and Mimi Wong. Ranging from $15,000 to $50,000 in four categories—articles, blogs, books, and short-form writing—these awards support projects addressing both general and specialized art audiences, from scholarly studies to critical reviews, and self-published blogs.

“The Warhol Foundation aims to support the full range of artistic activity in America—from exhibitions at major museums to neighborhood projects by artist collectives, said Joel Wachs, president of the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts. “Arts writers, through the range and specialization of their individual interests, touch upon all of this activity—illuminating and interrogating it and bringing it into conversation with the public. Support for artists is not complete without support for the circulation and serious consideration of their ideas. The Arts Writers Grant program keeps artists at the center of cultural dialogue and debate—in our opinion, right where they belong.”

Commenting on the range of project proposals, program director, Pradeep Dalal said: “Concerns with gender and race remain urgent: Ari Heinrich will use interdisciplinary methods to look at how trans artists like Jes Fan use biochemical agents like melanin and estrogen as artistic mediums; Jillian Steinhauer will probe the many facets of late-life success and attention that older women artists like Lorraine O’Grady, Mary Beth Edelson, and Carolee Schneemann are receiving; Patricia Failing will resurrect the seminal yet forgotten curatorial and activist practice of Henri Ghent, the founding director of The Brooklyn Museum’s Community Art Gallery; and Mimi Wong will focus on the imprecise ways artists of Asian descent are too often lumped together by proposing alternative interpretive frames that exist outside of Western formulations. This snapshot only partially represents this year’s remarkable pool of nineteen new grantees.”

The 2019 grantees are as follows:


Patricia Failing
“Remembering Henri Ghent (1926-2009)”

Nicole Woods
“Acid Visions: Bob Thompson, Abstract Figurative Painting, and the American NeoAvant-Garde”


Paul Schmelzer and Nicole J. Caruth
The Ostracon: Dispatches from Beyond Contemporary Art’s Center


Nora M.
Alter Harun Farocki: Forms of Intelligence

Leticia Alvarado
Cut/Hoard/Suture: Aesthetics in Relation

Jace Clayton
Behold the Monkey

Ari Larissa Heinrich
Decolonial Melanin: Jes Fan’s Contagious Xenophoria (A Glossary)

Robb Hernández
Alien Skins: Speculative Arts of the Americas

Jean Ma
At the Edges of Sleep

Prudence Peiffer
The Slip

Short-Form Writing

Hakim Bishara

Paul Brown

Sean J. Patrick Carney

Aruna D’Souza

Tess Edmonson

Alan Gilbert

Jillian Steinhauer

Elvia Wilk

Mimi Wong


Source link